What is art translation? Mediating in the world of contemporary art. A conversation with Kanoko Tamura, E08

7:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. JST / 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. GMT

Location: Online

Date: March 19, 2021

Time: 7:00 am to 9:00 am

Sponsor: Tufts Alumni Japan Chapter, Global Tufts Month

Cost: Free, but please register

As part of Global Tufts Month, please join alumni, students, and parents in Japan for a conversation with Kanoko Tamura, E08, Director of Art  Translators Collective. Specializing in contemporary art and performing arts, Kanoko conducts translation, interpreting, editing, and PR. Seeing herself as a mediator between people, cultures and languages, she aims to expand the possibilities of translation and propose the creative way to hold a dialogue in a given occasion. Kanoko has been teaching English and communication for young artists at Global Art Practice MFA program, Tokyo University of the Arts. She also works as Director of Communication Design for Sapporo International Art Festival 2020 to mediate between the festival and the audience. She graduated with a BS from the Department of Civil Engineering and Architecture at Tufts University in 2008, and received a BA from the Department of Intermedia Art at Tokyo University of the Arts in 2013. She is a member of Arts Commons Tokyo.

7:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. JST / 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. GMT